What’s In My Gym Bag

Everyone’s gym bag looks different and it heavily depends on what your goals are in the gym. If you are only training endurance, you might only have some headphones and running shoes but if you are lifting weights than you have have a pair of converse and a weightlifting belt.

I wouldn’t classify myself in either of these categories. As a gymnast, I try to incorporate a lot body weight exercises in addition to HITT and compound lifts to improve my overall strength, flexibility, and endurance. So here’s a little in site of what I bring to the gym.

First off, depending on where I am coming from, I either bring a backpack or a smaller bag to the gym. If I am coming from school I normally bring a backpack since I have to pack clothes and shoes with me, but if I am coming from home, I just grab what I need and use a smaller bag.

So, here are some of the things I bring to the gym.

1. Membership card/Wallet – Duh. I kinda need to be able to get into the gym somehow. Though, you would be surprised at how many times I forget to bring this. I’ve learned to stick my card on my car keys.

2. Phone – Typically I watch YouTube videos while warming up or doing cardio. I also use my phone to listen to music and to time my workouts.


3. Headphones – I’m cheap and found these wireless headphones off amazon for less than $15, but I am not complaining since they have been working wonders.

4. Notebook – This is where I log all my workouts. I normally write today’s workout on a small sticky note and carry that around in the gym instead of an entire notebook. Then, after my workout I write what I actually did because sometimes I end up straying from my plan.

img_7799

5. Water/Snacks – I always bring my own water to the gym since I absolutely hate drinking from water fountains. I also keep some easy on the go snacks in my bag just in case.

6. Ankle weights – We were required to buy these for gymnastics, but I actually use them more often at the gym. They are perfect for adding a little bit of weight to ab movements.

7. Sliders – I don’t normally use these too often, but I always keep sliders in my gym bag just in case. They are basically just furniture sliders, but they are good for body weight exercises when the gym is emptier than usual.

8. Thera bands – I keep two kinds of Thera bands in my bag: bands and loops. The loop Thera bands are good for activating glutes before squats and the bands are perfect for strengthening wrists and ankles.

So here are some of the things I typically bring to the gym. By no means do you need any of these items to go to the gym. Most of the time, gyms provide more than enough equipment for all types of training.

What do you normally bring to the gym?

Leave a Reply

