How to Cook Tofu

I get asked all the time how I make tofu so I decided it’s worth while to make an entire blog post about it.

First off, I’d like to mention that I live a “lose” vegetarian lifestyle. I grew up never being a big fan of any kind of meat. However, since then, I’ve begun to branch out and occasionally have chicken here or there but prefer vegetarian options.

When I first tried out tofu I couldn’t find many good recipes so I just winged it. I didn’t do anything special, but it turned out all right so I’ve been doing the same thing ever since.

Choosing the right kinda of tofu can make or break your dish. I first bought cubed tofu, but it is honestly so much harder to cook. I typically purchase the firm or extra firm varieties.

1. Drain the tofu from the package and pat it dry to remove a bit of the moisture.

2. Get a large stir fry pan warmed up and spray it with a nonstick spray and add a bit of vegetable oil.


3. Cut the block of tofu into 1/4 slices and lay them on the heated pan.


4. Cook covered on medium heat.

5. After about 3-5 minutes pass, flip the tofu to cook the other side. It should take another 3-5 minutes but keep an eye on it to avoid burning.


Let the tofu cool for a bit and enjoy it however you want. If you preferred cubed tofu, now is the time you can cut it into cubes.

As you may have noticed, I don’t add fancy sauces or seasoning. I don’t think tofu needs all that jazz when cooking it. I add the fun flavorings when I put my meal together. Some meal suggestions include rice bowls, salads, wraps, pretty much any dish you can name works well with tofu.

Leave a Reply

